Dara O’Kearney wins European Deep Stack Poker Championship

James Smith - 11 Feb 2008

The European Deep Stack Poker Championship was won by Irishman Dara O'Kearney at the weekend topping a field of 140 to win the title and €47,200.

A strong lineup for the €1,500 main event, which started on Feb. 6, included Poker Million champion Joe Beevers, fellow Hendon Mobster Barny Boatman, Mickey Wernick, Michael Muldoon, Conor Tate, Rory Matthews, Arnaud Mattern, and EPT Baden and GUKPT champion Julian Thew. But it was largely local talent which cashed in the event, now in its third year.

With nearly half the chips in play a deal was brokered after Joe Beevers was eliminated by Gary C larke in sixth. Dara led from wire to wire — he was the chip leader after day one and day two — and - according to players there - is a very deserving champion.

1.    Dara O'Kearney €47,200
2.    Gary Clarke €34,100
3.    Fran Egan €28,600
4.    Lloyd O'Farrell €26,700
5.    Barry Hand €23,400
6.    Joe Beevers €8000
7.    Marc McDonnell €6000
8.    Tony Baitson €4700
9.    Robbie McCormack €3900
10.    Peter Murphy €3200
11.    Graham Clarkson &e uro;3200
12.    Maurice Harmon €250! 0
1 3.    Michael Trimby €2500
14.    Don McKeown €2000

The week-long festival saw four side events completed, the winners of which were:

€500 short handed hold’em — Peter Heslin (IRE)
€500 pot-limit Omaha —  Rory Rees (IRE)
€500 no-limit hold’em — Ciaran Burke (IRE)
€200 no-limit hold’em — Alex Hall (ENG)

Click here to go to Paddypowerpoker

Share this article