Irish Winter Festival of Poker won by Fiachra Meere

James Smith - 28 Oct 2008

The Irish Winter Festival of Poker in Dublin finished up late last night with Fiachra Meere of Limerick winning the €1,650 entry Irish Masters main event and taking home the trophy and €150,000, beating Chris Wood of England into 2nd place.  Wood took home €106,000 for his efforts over the three-day poker tournament.  John Rafferty, who qualified for the tournament playing with, came 3rd for €68,500.  

Meere, who qualified for the Irish Masters via a freeroll tournament in Limerick's Fitzpatricks card club, said he was over the moon with the result, his biggest since taking up the game. He highlighted his elimination of Andy Black during Day 2 as the turning point in his tournament, pushing him on to drive for the final table.

423 runners played in the Irish Masters main event, with a total of €634,500 in the prizepool.  The top 40 players cashed, with 40th place receiving €1,900 and the prize amounts increasing incrementally all the way up to 1st place, which originally was set at €187,000. However, the players on the final table made a deal to flatten out the payout structure, taking some money off 1st place and bumping up the 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th payouts.

Irish Masters final table results:

1st Fiachra Meere - €150,000
2nd Chris Wood - €106,000
3rd John Rafferty - €68,500
4th David Poole - €57,000
5th Peter Murphy - €48,700
6th Jamie Zambuni - €40,500
7th Andreas Schippani - €24,000
8th Warren Woodall - €17,180
9th Waseem Shahid - €10,500

paddypowerpoker  also ran two side event tournaments, a €220 rebuy tournament and a €550 freezeout tournament.  The €200 event had 167 runners, a €97,400 prize pool and 1st prize of €31,000 went to the Slovakian player, Jan Bendik.  The €500 event had 203 runners, a €101,500 prize pool and 1st place prize of €31,700 went to Danish player Nicholas Leszkowicz.

Click here to go to Paddypowerpoker

Share this article